louise mair's Profile

louise mair's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

I am a very positive person with lots of good energy and enthusiasm. I happily turn my hand to anything to ensure the groups end result is achieved. I am happy to pass on all my knowledge with patience, generosity & humour. I have an open and creative mind, which comes in handy when problem solving. I'm at a very exciting time in my life where I am exploring my spirituality, and am just starting to enjoy the benefits of meditation

Additional Photos

, ,

Why I Build Sustainably

It makes complete and utter sense to me...... To live in and contribute to a community that cares and sustains itself and the environment

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I volunteer with the National Trust for Scotland, and go on Thistle camps. These camps can last from a weekend to a couple of weeks. I have recently been put through a leadership program so can now lead these trips.

My Life Philosophy

Life is a journey....everything must grow, change, evolve... accept & embrace this, enjoy it and you will be happy!

Building Styles I have Experience in

Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls

My Occupation

I was made redundant this year, I see this as a opportunity to find a new more rewarding way of living and being.... I ran a jewellery shop, managing a small team of 6 ladies. I would design and sell jewellery in the shop. Run workshops... teaching people how to make specific pieces in a fun and nurturing environment

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

I'd say I'm happily eclectic and up for anything! -Fiction wise, I love Jeanette Winterson, she is really interesting! But to be honest I read more non fiction...biographies and reference books -Music wise, anything with heart -I enjoy World cinema & any of the old black & white films

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
Volunteering with the national Trust has really opened my eyes to the beauty and importance of these natural or self sufficient structures

My Education

I come from a long art background: -1 year MA in Fine art -3 years B.A in Fine art (specialising in sculpture) -1 year foundation art & design -1 year Access graphic art & design

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
I'm not fussy & love all foods! I love growing it, preparing it, cooking it, eating it but most of all sharing it :)