Loren Heacock's Profile

Loren Heacock's picture

My Gender

Male

A Little about Me

Born and raised in Indiana. I moved around the US for a while and slowly made my way west to Oregon. I've been interested in sustainable building for a few years and just built my first sustainable house fall of 2011 out of used car tires, local and reused materials. After the build I got involved with some friends to start thePOOSH.org! Now that the website is launched, I'm travelling around Europe promoting and maintaining thePOOSH.org as well as doing some building along the way!

Additional Photos

, ,

References Left

April Simmons's picture Loren is my favorite person to build with! He is patient, calm, and easy-going. This also makes him a master at explaining things to beginners.
Leah O's picture Loren is laidback and easy going but always, always willing to step up to lend a hand. He is very positive and helps balance our group dynamic--the best team player. Loren is very focused and knows how and when to work hard. This guy is always up for an adventure, and you might end up with some...
Jim Self's picture Loren's relaxed, thoughtful, intelligent and hard working. He'll work long hours and not complain come rain or shine! Be sure to give him some tools and he'll help you craft something good! POOSH with this guy soon!!
Eric Puro's picture Just wonderful builder this man. Give him a project, install some inspiration, and watch it come to life before your eyes. I saw Loren go from stacking toothpicks to real logs for a reciprocal roof in 2 days.

Why I Build Sustainably

Sustainable building is something that I'm very very passionate about. I grew up with construction background. While being very concerned and observing our environmental situation, amount of waste from building, energy use, and over consumption; I searched for alternative building methods. I began researching green building methods and became discouraged by the direction building was heading which in my opinion was a bunch of green-wash. Eventually I stumbled upon the documentary 'Garbage Warrior' and was again inspired. Since then I've also done a lot of research into more natural building methods and am into using more of a mix of recycled and natural materials.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I would like to develop my knowledge on foraging and then use it.

My Life Philosophy

“To love. To be loved. To never forget your own insignificance. To never get used to the unspeakable violence and the vulgar disparity of life around you. To seek joy in the saddest places. To pursue beauty to its lair. To never simplify what is complicated or complicate what is simple. To respect strength, never power. Above all, to watch. To try and understand. To never look away. And never, never, to forget.” ― Arundhati Roy

Building Styles I have Experience in

Cob
Earthship/used tires
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
My house I built in Oregon was based off the earthship model. We used car tires for the wall, downed trees from the forest and cob from the earth. We also went to a local flagstone quarry for our floor and made a retaining wall from boulders we dug up from our build site. The windows, water tanks, door and other items were all reused.

My Occupation

thePOOSH.org

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

I'm currently addicted to the Game of Thrones book series. My non-fiction reading is composed of mostly foraging and natural building. My top 3 artists at the moment are Yonder Mountain String Band, Fela Kuti, and Pink Floyd.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
I'm truly interested in all of these styles since I believe the style utilized should be adaptable to what resources and material are available rather than importing a material just because that's what you're interested in.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
Eating well is very important to me. Travelling and camping most nights I'm beginning to master open fire, 1 pot meals.