Ilka Pia Claren's Profile

Ilka Pia Claren's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

Hi I am Ilka, I would say I am open minded, curious and love to learn new things. I love natural/experimental building and hope to build my own house one day. When I am in a house that is build with natural materials I feel calm and peaceful. I am attracted to wonderful natural colours on the wall and rooms that are full of natural light. When I can work with my hands and build something I am very happy. If I can do that with other likeminded people I am even more happy. I feel peace when I know that I contribute something useful and that I create and leave the place better then I found it. I have had experience in natural building, building cob walls, doing a lot of plastering and building a rocket stove mass heater. Now I hope to learn even more about everything that is related to natural building.

Additional Photos

My Friends

Why I Build Sustainably

First of all I get really exhited and feel amazing when I get my hands into the mud or work with material from the nature. And then I see it as the only right way to life in an environment that is clean and pure and not offgassing toxins. A natural sustainable way to build helps us personally and the invironment all around us.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I have good skills in Filmmaking (shooting and editing), Photgraphy and Illustration. I know how to sew and use very basic power tools. I would like to learn more about plumming and electricity, basically everything I need to build a house ;) I have alwasy been surrounded by animals and have good skills in taking care of horses, dogs, cats, chickens etc. I love them all

My Life Philosophy

I believe that it is our purpose in life to do what makes us happy, and that contributes to the wellbeeing of planet.

Building Styles I have Experience in

Cob
In the beginning fo this year I learend building with Cob at the O.U.R. Eco village on Vancouver island. I build with Elke Cole and other volunteers at the Ecovillage. I would say I am an intermediate cobber, but very good in plastering

My Occupation

I lived in Canada for 9 months where I explored more of natural building and now I am looking for natural building opportunitys in Europe

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

I love Kirtan, reading all kinds of books, yoga and hiking

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
I have been researching into alternative living possibilities since years, I build a yurt as a community project and finally had the chance this year to learn more about cob. I learned from the wonderful natural building teacher Elke Cole on Vancouver island

My Education

I have been studying Art and Design in Italy where I learned about Filmproduction, Fotography, Graphic and Product design, Illustration and much more.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
I like healthy food. I prefer everything that is as pure as possible (no long ingredient list or highly processed food) Organic if possible but not required. I like to eat fresh fruit and veggies :)