Emma Johnson's Profile

Emma Johnson's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

We're taking a year to travel around exploring ways of living and building a home, before we try and do it ourselves.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

We want to build a home.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

Dan loves to sing and play music with others and is great at teaching songs. Emma loves artsy things and has run lots of art classes for young people and has also run community art projects/workshops. We are both keen cooks, which we are interested in both sharing and developing. We attended a permaculture course together and wish to develop our skills on a practical level through wwoofing and pooshing. We have a basic knowledge of permaculture principals and design skills which we can share. We've both had experience working in farms, fencing, growing veggies/herbs, native planting (in Australia), animals (pigs, alpacas, chickens, dogs, cats, goats) and house maintenance. Through the pooshing experience we wish to use our muscles and be outdoors, while exploring ways of living, building and growing.

My Life Philosophy

To live simply, we don't need flashy things, we just want to live well and be rich in friends, health and happiness.

Building Styles I have Experience in

Reclaimed Materials

My Building Qualifications

None.

My Occupation

Currently travelling around busking with our matching parlour guitars. Dan is a musician, singing, playing guitar, piano, and many other instruments. Emma is an artist and broadcaster. We're both adaptable, fit and good with our hands. We have no formal training in building, but have experience in labouring and odd job type stuff. Can handle an electric drill, but not a chainsaw.

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Music - like all types, generally ... we have travelling parlour guitars. Yesterday we learnt to play and sing Karma Chameleon by Culture Club, Raspberry Beret by Prince and Wonderful World by Sam Cooke. Dan's a documentary man, enjoying biographies and all things history. Having grown up in Australia he was deprived of castles, and now in Europe, he can't get enough of them. Emma's new favourite author is Andrew Soloman, and is currently reading Far From the Tree, a book about parents who have children that are very different from them. She loves going to the cinema, South Park, Terry Gilliam films, Roald Dahl books and disney cartoon films.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls

My Education

Emma is an artist and studied Fine Art Sculpture Degree at Wimbledon School of Art, before moving to Australia. In Oz, Em completed a Certificate 4 in Small Business Management, plus lots of training in community media. In 2014 Dan & Emma did a 147 hour Permaculture Design Course together at Telopea Mountain, Monbulk, Victoria in Australia.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
We like cooking. Emma is good at vegan and not vegan at all cakes and desserts.