Boycee Colbourne's Profile

Boycee Colbourne's picture

My Gender


A Little about Me

Boycee 56 going on 35...young at heart, love life, music, people, travelling & food. Elizabeth a creative explorer.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

Why should anyone have to slave for most of their lives to pay for a box of bricks that are soulless!

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

Boycee: Clay plastering, Lime Rendering & plastering, natural floor screeding, Hempcrete blocks, Hempcrete, Plasterer, painter & decorator, Locksmith, Cob/Earthen Plasters, Straw Bale Building, Adobe Earth Building insight. Round house building insight,Leadership skills & strong enthusiastic team player. Positive outlook. Elizabeth: Computers, Social Media, Marketing, Event organising, Short film making, Creative/arts/making

My Life Philosophy

Boycee: Take the path of least resistance....most of the time! Elizabeth: Be the change you want to see in the world....

Building Styles I have Experience in

Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Earthen Plastering.
Lime plastering & rendering
Hempcrete & Hempcrete blocks
Clay plastering
Straw Bale building. Wales Aug 2015. I have attended an Adobe Earth Brick building course in New Zealand, Jan 2015. This incorporated cob building & plastering onto straw bales.

My Building Qualifications

Plasterer level 2 Diploma City & Guilds UK. Qualified Painter & Decorator Locksmith

My Occupation

Boycee: Awful corporate world for too many years....Redundancy set me free.... Elizabeth: 18 years of Coach Travel Tourism

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Boycee enjoys reading thrillers and true stories. Elizabeth reads autobiographies and fiction novels. We both love films from a wide range of genres.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
Natural & Earthen Plasters
Earth bags
I spent far too many years in the mortgage trap....after losing everything through divorce I vowed I would never get trapped in the mortgage web again. I have always liked the look, feel & aesthetics of a self built home. Elizabeth and I gave up our long term careers to explore New Zealand for a couple of years. Boycee spent 22 in the corporate world, until redundancy set him free! He then retrained in the UK as a Plasterer to come and help with the Christchurch rebuild. Elizabeth left her job of 18 years in the coach tourism industry to travel with Boycee. Since arriving in Christchurch in Feb 2014, we have both worked whilst exploring the country in our spare time. We hope to one day build our own home as naturally as possible, Boycee completed a 5 day practical course in Adobe Earth Building in Jan 2015. We are looking to help on similar projects around New Zealand either South or North Island. Elizabeth has excellent administrative, clerical and computer skills and runs various social media platforms for businesses. She also enjoys being creative sewing/making things. Boycee, as well as being a plasterer was a locksmith and painter and decorator in the UK. We are both open to learning new skills and passing on ours to others. We both enjoy learning about other cultures, meeting new people, music. We are both healthy non smokers, Boycee enjoys a glass of red, whilst Elizabeth's tipple is lager.

My Education

Boycee: Too far back to worry about... Elizabeth: Lots of pieces of paper but life experience more relevant

My Eating Habits

People think vegetarians are fussy - and couldn't be more wrong. Elizabeth eats meat, but we both manage to eat the same meals with small differences. We dislike brussel sprouts, corn on the cob and carrots with a passion... Boycee is actually a pescatarian, which means he eats most fish but not shell fish....